Thread poster: Richard Purdom
Richard Purdom
Richard Purdom  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 12:41
Dutch to English
+ ...
Jun 12, 2023

I've been using memoQ since 2013, and was quite happy with it. However, I decided it was time to install the latest version, and I was looking forward to quite a lot of improvements over the decade.
What a let-down. I can see no obvious improvements at all as a translator just wanting ease of use. The same features are scattered along a ribbon, but are now harder to find. Same tiny windows top right with TM matches that you have to click to read if you want to see more than 5 words.
... See more
I've been using memoQ since 2013, and was quite happy with it. However, I decided it was time to install the latest version, and I was looking forward to quite a lot of improvements over the decade.
What a let-down. I can see no obvious improvements at all as a translator just wanting ease of use. The same features are scattered along a ribbon, but are now harder to find. Same tiny windows top right with TM matches that you have to click to read if you want to see more than 5 words.
Simple operations such as searching for a word in the TM should be easy, but no, you have to open the edit feature, still. There is a search feature, but as far as I can see it can only be used outside memoQ (?!). Why's that Kilgray??

As for the dreadful online explanation of this tool, it is appallingly written. Can't they get a native with minimal proficiency to write or translate their blurb? Or if that's too much get ChatGPT to do the job? For example,

'When you open the memoQ TM search tool, and you use a TM for your search, and at the same time you want to use the same TM in memoQ, that TM cannot be opened and cannot be used... If you open memoQ first, and then want to use the open TMs in the memoQ TM search tool, then these TMs cannot be used in the search. You will get a warning message.'

Anyone understand that?

Raise your game Kilgray.