Stephen Rifkind  Identity Verified
Israel
Local time: 13:51
Member (2004)
French to English
+ ...
Feb 3, 2006

Dear experienced users:

It may be 11:00 in the evening stupidity, but I cannot get to Trados 7.1 to interact with an Excel document. This is my first time using Trados 7 on Excel. When I use Word, there is a trados line in word. However, when I pull up the Excel file, all I get is the Excel file, with no access to Trados. The answer is probably obvious, but I am missing it. Yes, the trados editor is turned on.

I appreciate any help.

Yours truly,
<
... See more
Dear experienced users:

It may be 11:00 in the evening stupidity, but I cannot get to Trados 7.1 to interact with an Excel document. This is my first time using Trados 7 on Excel. When I use Word, there is a trados line in word. However, when I pull up the Excel file, all I get is the Excel file, with no access to Trados. The answer is probably obvious, but I am missing it. Yes, the trados editor is turned on.

I appreciate any help.

Yours truly,

Stephen Rifkind
Collapse

Jerzy Czopik
Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 12:51
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
Do not open the file in Excel, but use TAG Editor instead Feb 3, 2006

Start Workbench, start TagEditor, go to Open, select "Excel" als file type, navigate to the directory where your file is, select it and click "Open".
That´s all.
After you are finished with translation (don´t forget to save your work by pressing ctrl+s from time to time - TAG Editor does not have ANY file recovery function) you go to the "File" menu and chose "Save target as...", where you can save your file as xls, preferably under a different name than the source file.

... See more
Start Workbench, start TagEditor, go to Open, select "Excel" als file type, navigate to the directory where your file is, select it and click "Open".
That´s all.