Jeffrey Henson
Jeffrey Henson
France
Local time: 11:40
Member (2015)
French to English
Apr 14, 2015

Hi guys,

So, here's the deal. As it is, I have no background in law or legal studies, but hope to work towards specializing one day in legal translations and eventually prepare the "Diplôme Universitaire de Traducteur-Interprète Juridique at the ESIT in Paris. In preparation for this course of study, I was considering taking some online classes in "Legal English" and I was wondering if anyone has any knowledge or experience with ei
... See more
Hi guys,

So, here's the deal. As it is, I have no background in law or legal studies, but hope to work towards specializing one day in legal translations and eventually prepare the "Diplôme Universitaire de Traducteur-Interprète Juridique at the ESIT in Paris. In preparation for this course of study, I was considering taking some online classes in "Legal English" and I was wondering if anyone has any knowledge or experience with either of the following websites :

https://www.translegal.com/

http://legalvox.fr/formation/cours-particuliers-anglais-juridique/

LegalVox offers classes to prepare students for the International Legal English Certificate (ILEC) exam, which I was not familiar with. I would alsp be interested in any opinions about this exam, if it is as "recognized" as they claim and a worthwhile investment.

http://legalvox.fr/formation/international-legal-english-certificate-ilec/

Any advice in this area would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers !
Jeff
Collapse

Diana Obermeyer
Diana Obermeyer  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 10:40
Member (2013)
German to English
+ ...
Good starting point Apr 15, 2015

I wasn't aware of the ILEC, but I can comment on the BEC (the business equivalent).