First steps DipTrans, MA, other options???
Автор темы: Susana González Tuya
Susana González Tuya
Susana González Tuya
Испания
Local time: 15:54
Член ProZ.com c 2010
английский => испанский
+ ...
Mar 27, 2009

Hello,

It's been several years now that I have been interested in getting a qualification or training as a translator. I have a university degree in International Business hence in every job I had so far I end up being the unofficial translator of the company. I would like to be a profesional translator and I was thinking of getting some qualifications.

The problem is that I am not sure which option I should take. I had previously attended the DipsTrans course at Westm
... See more
Hello,

It's been several years now that I have been interested in getting a qualification or training as a translator. I have a university degree in International Business hence in every job I had so far I end up being the unofficial translator of the company. I would like to be a profesional translator and I was thinking of getting some qualifications.

The problem is that I am not sure which option I should take. I had previously attended the DipsTrans course at Westminster University and I was not very impress (Not very practical and the teacher didn't seem to know what she was doing). I don't think this type of course will actually help me. I have also check their MA's and the one at London Metropolitan but I don't know much about this University I can find any feedback about their courses.

I hope you can help me with your experience or direct me somewhere.

Thanks
Collapse

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT
Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Испания
Local time: 15:54
Член ProZ.com c 2005
английский => испанский
+ ...
DipTrans, an exam rather than a course Mar 27, 2009

Personally I would talk to centres that offer classes or online courses. We are supposed not to use names here, so please feel free to email me via Proz and I will give you the names of two I know of.