Paula Borges
Paula Borges  Identity Verified
Royaume-Uni
Local time: 19:28
Membre (2010)
anglais vers portugais
+ ...
Feb 14, 2011

I apologise if there are other threads about this, I could not find them.

I have been working with a client for years, and a few months ago they introduced discounts for repeated segments (100% Match). Since I use a CAT Tool and most of the texts I translate do not have repeated paragraphs/segments I did not mind.

A while ago they sent me a small assignment, with no repeated segments, which has been delivered already. As I do with many of my regular clients, by the end
... See more
I apologise if there are other threads about this, I could not find them.

I have been working with a client for years, and a few months ago they introduced discounts for repeated segments (100% Match). Since I use a CAT Tool and most of the texts I translate do not have repeated paragraphs/segments I did not mind.

A while ago they sent me a small assignment, with no repeated segments, which has been delivered already. As I do with many of my regular clients, by the end of the month we check every job completed within that month and I issue one single invoice.

When I got the email, I noticed the value they were offering for this particular assignment was 3 times lower than what I was expecting. No doubt it was a mistake, I thought, and contacted the PM about it.

I got a reply saying this was because of their new policy: discounts for repeated words (such as 'it' "this' and 'that', etc.) He claims repeated words do not need to be retranslated. I couldn't think of a better reply than "If that is the case, why don't you use machine translation? That's exactly what they do. They work for free, I do not".

Mind you, they expect top quality and the smallest of typos is an excuse for a rude email.

I'm just wondering if this is the standard anywhere in the world? Does anybody accept this?

[Edited at 2011-02-14 16:32 GMT]
Collapse

Laurent KRAULAND (X)