Tech2000
Tech2000
South Korea
Local time: 18:43
Korean to English
+ ...
Sep 9, 2013

Hi Everyone,

I am working as a translator in S. Korea. One of my translation agencies in Spain asks me to provide them with my passport number. They said that they wanted to update my information on their database.

Do I have to give it to them?
I am worried that my ID may be used for illegal place by them.

Please give me your idea.

Many thanks.

Best regards,
Tech2000

Marta Aguilar
Marta Aguilar  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 11:43
German to Spanish
+ ...
Do not worry Sep 9, 2013

Dear Tech2000, good afternoon,

my name is Marta and I am a Spanish born translator. I think that you should not worry about any agency using your ID for illegal purposes or anything like that.

The reason they ask you for your ID number might be for TAX purposes. That is: in Spain we usually need to declare the purchasing and selling invoices with countries located outside Europe.

Furthermore, we usually write our ID (or VAT number) in our signature, it is
... See more
Dear Tech2000, good afternoon,

my name is Marta and I am a Spanish born translator. I think that you should not worry about any agency using your ID for illegal purposes or anything like that.

The reason they ask you for your ID number might be for TAX purposes. That is: in Spain we usually need to declare the purchasing and selling invoices with countries located outside Europe.

Furthermore, we usually write our ID (or VAT number) in our signature, it is assigned to our name, so that anyone can see who we are.

I hope this answer makes you feel more relaxed.

I wish you the best of sucess,
Marta
Collapse

Emma Goldsmith
Emma Goldsmith  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2004)
Spanish to English
Normal for Spain ;) Sep 9, 2013

In Spain, you have to supply your ID number /residence card number / passport number in all sorts of situations, and certainly every time you sign your name.