John Moran
John Moran  Identity Verified
Ireland
Local time: 12:14
German to English
+ ...
Jul 15, 2013

Dear all,

I am a freelance software developer (and translator / former LSP owner). This posting is intended as a requirements gathering exercise for a translator notification system for new translation jobs to fill a gap I see in the market. Here is the current problem as I see it:

1) A PM in an LSP receives a job. The lead time is short and the job is small. Rather than wait for e-mail responses, she rings a few translators on her list and on the third attempt f
... See more
Dear all,

I am a freelance software developer (and translator / former LSP owner). This posting is intended as a requirements gathering exercise for a translator notification system for new translation jobs to fill a gap I see in the market. Here is the current problem as I see it:

1) A PM in an LSP receives a job. The lead time is short and the job is small. Rather than wait for e-mail responses, she rings a few translators on her list and on the third attempt finds a translator who has the capacity to take the job. This is inefficient.

2) Translators are signed up with many agencies and some agencies (e.g. translated.net, Lionbridge ) have software than makes it possible for a translator to proactively indicate capacity.

3) Agencies sometime send jobs out on e-mail lists. If translatorA accepts a job, it is a waste of time for translator B to respond.

4) Some translation management systems (XTM, XTRF) provide notification systems to automate this process but it requires that the agency in question pay for the whole platform which may not be suitable for their needs.

Here is the germ of the system I am considering developing: