What am I supposed to be aware of when I sign the NDA?
Thread poster: Tasha Syarifah
Tasha Syarifah
Tasha Syarifah  Identity Verified
Indonesia
Local time: 12:44
Member (2023)
English to Indonesian
+ ...
Sep 19, 2023

Hi everyone, what am I supposed to be aware of when I sign the NDA? It's my first time having a few NDAs to be signed. They are from different agencies. Both are different NDAs, and I am a bit anxious.

Any tips or info would be great. Thank you!

Baran Keki
Baran Keki  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 08:44
English to Turkish
Just sign the damn thing Sep 19, 2023

Since they probably won't be able to extradite you to Texas to put you in the electric chair, you can always say "f*ck off" when they say something like "but you've signed our NDA and according to the paragraph 513 on page 309 you're supposed to donate your kidney to us".
Just relax or give us a call at Keki & Associates. We specialize in translator resumes and NDAs.

Matthias Brombach
David Manuel Díaz Sánchez
expressisverbis
Philippe Etienne
Andriy Yasharov
Kevin Fulton
Philip Lees

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 06:44
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Pay attention to things you don’t agree with Sep 19, 2023

If there are terms you disagree with, cross them out before signing. Most of these NDAs are boilerplate text and some agencies throw one at you even if it can't be enforced. On one occasion I crossed out one paragraph I didn’t agree with and signed the NDA. A few months later after I had worked on several projects, they asked me why (apparently, they hadn’t noticed…), I’m still working with them. The worst that can happen is that the agency will not work with you, in which case you haven... See more