Thread poster: r-lts.com
r-lts.com
r-lts.com
United Kingdom
Local time: 11:48
English to Chinese
+ ...
Jan 17, 2013

I have been a freelance translator outside the UK (mainly part-time) and thinking of going towards the full-time road in the UK. However, I am thinking of maximising my revenue by not only accepting jobs that I CAN DO (e.g. my language pairs / within my availability) but also acting as an AGENCY (or agent since it will only be me) to pay other translators to do the job for me and I get a small amount of payment in return as an agent. Is it possible?

1-If so, can those costs that I u
... See more
I have been a freelance translator outside the UK (mainly part-time) and thinking of going towards the full-time road in the UK. However, I am thinking of maximising my revenue by not only accepting jobs that I CAN DO (e.g. my language pairs / within my availability) but also acting as an AGENCY (or agent since it will only be me) to pay other translators to do the job for me and I get a small amount of payment in return as an agent. Is it possible?

1-If so, can those costs that I use to hire other translators be counted as business EXPENSES?
2-How can I ensure the quality (to avoid my liability as an agent) of the work that is completed in other languages that I don't understand?
3-Can I be the SOLE TRADER (registered as self-employed) even I act as an agency as well as a translator?

Your help will really help me to decide my future career direction to focus on. So if you could give me some advice I am very grateful for it.

Thanks in advance.
Collapse

Siegfried Armbruster
Siegfried Armbruster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 12:48
English to German
+ ...
In memoriam
Oops Jan 17, 2013

ivy_oops wrote:
2-How can I ensure the quality (to avoid my liability as an agent) of the work that is completed in other languages that I don't understand?