Thread poster: Silvia Di Profio
Silvia Di Profio
Silvia Di Profio  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 12:25
Member (2015)
English to Italian
Nov 12, 2014

As a beginner, I need to share my work with others, and let them commenting, correcting, suggesting about. So, starting a blog seems to me a good idea but browsing the web I realized translators website and blogs are often in english, much less frequently in the mother tongue...
Question for you, skilled Prozers: which is the best language for the specific goal of my blog?

Thank you all in advance.

Deirdre Brophy (X)
Deirdre Brophy (X)  Identity Verified
France
English to Irish
+ ...
Who is your audience? Nov 12, 2014

I suppose it depends on who you would like to attract to your blog...

If you would like feedback from Italian-speaking translators, why not an Italian blog?

If you want to use the blog to attract potential English-speaking customers, I suppose an English blog would be best. Of course, it can be difficult to produce good quality content in a second language!

Silvia Di Profio
Silvia Di Profio  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 12:25
Member (2015)
English to Italian
TOPIC STARTER
Audience Nov 12, 2014

Deirdre Brophy wrote:

I suppose it depends on who you would like to attract to your blog...

If you would like feedback from Italian-speaking translators, why not an Italian blog?

If you want to use the blog to attract potential English-speaking customers, I suppose an English blog would be best.

Thanks, Deirdre,
that's exactly the point. I wish to create at first an interaction channel with professional translators (in my fields) to use as a feedback for my translaton projects and homeworks; in a second step -in my mind- it could even be something like a portfolio for potential English-speaking customers.
...too ambitious, maybe, but I'm just exploring the possibilities...

Deirdre Brophy wrote:
Of course, it can be difficult to produce good quality content in a second language!