Thread poster: jadecassidy
jadecassidy
jadecassidy
Local time: 23:55
French to English
+ ...
Nov 23, 2011

Hello everyone,

I graduated in Modern Languages in 2010 (French, German and Spanish). Since then I have done some freelance translation and worked as a translator at a law firm. However, I would like to get into interpreting as I find translation too solitary for me at present. Am I correct in believing that further study is necessary? Furthermore where would you recommend me to study an MA/ other qualifications? Ideally I would like to study abroad (in either a French, German or Sp
... See more
Hello everyone,

I graduated in Modern Languages in 2010 (French, German and Spanish). Since then I have done some freelance translation and worked as a translator at a law firm. However, I would like to get into interpreting as I find translation too solitary for me at present. Am I correct in believing that further study is necessary? Furthermore where would you recommend me to study an MA/ other qualifications? Ideally I would like to study abroad (in either a French, German or Spanish speaking country). Which universities have an excellent reputation and would offer excellent career prospects? In the future, I may like to work for the European Union or UN, for example.
I would greatly appreciate any advice.

Many thanks and I look forward to your responses.
Collapse

Muzi Li
Muzi Li  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 06:55
Chinese to English
+ ...
recommend University of Bath, UK Nov 23, 2011

I do think further study is necessary to become a professional interpreter.

I got my MA from University of Bath. Its interpretation program is very prestigious, and students are provided with opportunities to intern at the UN Office at Vienna. You may find more info from its website.

Diana Coada (X)
Diana Coada (X)  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Portuguese to English
+ ...
CI courses Nov 23, 2011