Libero_Lang_Lab
Libero_Lang_Lab  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 17:15
Russian to English
+ ...
Feb 24, 2003

hi there

i work as a translator, and i also work as an editor, but i have not previously worked as a proofreader or translation editor. can someone give me any idea of what kind of rate ranges are acceptable for these two types of work? and do you charge by the hour or by the word? any clues will be much appreciated.

cheers

dan

AAAmedical
AAAmedical  Identity Verified
Belgium
Local time: 18:15
English to Dutch
+ ...
by the hour for proofreading Feb 24, 2003

As it is difficult to judge in advance the quality of a translation. After viewing a sample of the translation and only when the quality is good I can agree on a rate/word basis, if not by the hour.

Regards

Ann

Sven Petersson
Sven Petersson  Identity Verified
Sweden
English to Swedish
+ ...
By the word Feb 24, 2003

See my fee table on my ProZ page!

Sven.

Maya Jurt
Maya Jurt  Identity Verified
Switzerland
French to German
+ ...
Big question!!!! Feb 24, 2003

Hi Dan,

everbody will tell you \"hourly rates\". But if you do this job for the first time for a client, he does not know how slow or how fast you are. And you do not know the quality of the text you\'ll receive. A tricky business indeed, especially since you are an editor as well.

Do you only need to correct grammar, spelling, ommissions, consistency etc.? Or do you have to check the terminology? What about style? Style should be left alone, but what to do when st
... See more
Hi Dan,

everbody will tell you \"hourly rates\". But if you do this job for the first time for a client, he does not know how slow or how fast you are. And you do not know the quality of the text you\'ll receive. A tricky business indeed, especially since you are an editor as well.