Can I work as a Community Interpreter in the UK (DCI) but be based abroad?
Thread poster: Joanna Malhotra
Joanna Malhotra
Joanna Malhotra
United Kingdom
Local time: 23:07
English to Polish
+ ...
Jan 16

Hello, does anyone know if it is possible to work as a Community Interpreter (DCI) in the UK through video/phone, while being based abroad? I live in the UK (pre-settled status), and I am thinking of doing the Diploma in Community Interpreting. I would like to move to France in a year or two so am not sure if I could transfer this job outside of the UK. Would welcome any advice you might have on that issue. Thank you!

Rose Albert
Rose Albert
United Kingdom
I work as a Community Interpreter in the UK Jan 30

As of my last knowledge update in January 2022, regulations and requirements for working as a Community Interpreter (DCI) or in any specific job role can change, and it's essential to check the most recent information from official sources. However, I can provide some general guidance.
Working as a Community Interpreter in the UK typically requires adherence to local regulations and may involve considerations such as residency, work permits, and legal authorization to work. Being based abr
... See more
As of my last knowledge update in January 2022, regulations and requirements for working as a Community Interpreter (DCI) or in any specific job role can change, and it's essential to check the most recent information from official sources. However, I can provide some general guidance.
Working as a Community Interpreter in the UK typically requires adherence to local regulations and may involve considerations such as residency, work permits, and legal authorization to work. Being based abroad might present challenges in meeting these requirements.

1. Research the Requirements
2. Work Permits and Visa
3. Remote or Online Opportunities
4. Networking and Contacts
5. Professional Certification
6. Legal Considerations