Thread poster: Patricia Parten
Patricia Parten
Patricia Parten
United States
Local time: 05:31
Spanish to English
+ ...
Feb 12, 2005

I am totally new to voice overs... (Spanish) any help would be greatly appreciated. I don't know much about what is involved, only that I will have an audition over the phone on Monday. I do read very well and have a good voice so I am hopeful it will go allright. But... I have been asked about my rates and so far I have been avoiding the issue!! Help me.

Johanna Timm, PhD
Johanna Timm, PhD  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 03:31
English to German
+ ...
Charging for a voice-over Feb 13, 2005

Hi Patricia,
Welcome to the wonderful job of voice-overs!
Here is how it works. You charge by the hour and set a minimum of hours (after all, you need time to get to the studio and back home); my minimum is 3 hours. Sometimes, a ‘checker’ is hired – that’s a native speaker who makes sure that you don’t leave out any words, that your pronunciation is clear, that you don’t slur your words, and that your ‘level of enthusiasm’ does not drop after 2 hours...
See more
Hi Patricia,
Welcome to the wonderful job of voice-overs!
Here is how it works. You charge by the hour and set a minimum of hours (after all, you need time to get to the studio and back home); my minimum is 3 hours. Sometimes, a ‘checker’ is hired – that’s a native speaker who makes sure that you don’t leave out any words, that your pronunciation is clear, that you don’t slur your words, and that your ‘level of enthusiasm’ does not drop after 2 hours . I’ve started out as a checker and then graduated to ‘speaking’ texts.