zkt
zkt  Identity Verified
Lebanon
Local time: 09:57
English to Arabic
+ ...
Jul 2, 2007

Dear Prozians working with the Arabic language,

Is there to your knowledge any speech recognition software that is suitable for Arabic?

Anyone among you is using a speech recognition software?

I would like to hear your positive and negative experiences.

Thank you

Noha Kamal, PhD.
Noha Kamal, PhD.  Identity Verified
English to Arabic
+ ...
2 software Jul 3, 2007

Hi,

I have been using speech recognition software since 1998. Two brand names are generally known in this domain. IBM Gold (which has been continued for some time now) and Dragon Naturally Speaking. I have used the latter for quite some time, and I can say in all honesty that it does catch on with training. I mean when you use it extensively, it gets accustomed to your voice and performance is thus significantly enhanced. However, as a general rule, I am inclined to think that the s
... See more
Hi,

I have been using speech recognition software since 1998. Two brand names are generally known in this domain. IBM Gold (which has been continued for some time now) and Dragon Naturally Speaking. I have used the latter for quite some time, and I can say in all honesty that it does catch on with training. I mean when you use it extensively, it gets accustomed to your voice and performance is thus significantly enhanced. However, as a general rule, I am inclined to think that the speech recognition technology still has a long way to go. For the time being, it cannot replace the typing skill if you re looking to rely on it in handling large translation projects.

Best,
Noha
Collapse

zkt
zkt  Identity Verified
Lebanon
English to Arabic
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
For arabic?? Jul 3, 2007

HEllo Noha,

Finally, this is the second time I post this question.