Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
For future reference what are your rates?
Thread poster: Rafa Alba
Rafa Alba
Rafa Alba
Spain
Local time: 10:24
English to Spanish
Feb 23, 2021

I had this problem as a language teacher and now as a translator. Sometimes people ask for your rates at times when I think is out of context.

I have two problems with this question:

1. I am still a beginner translator and have not clearly figured out what are my rates.
2. It seems like answering that question reduces the value of my service.

What do you recommend?

Francisco Vare
Francisco Vare
Poland
Polish to Spanish
+ ...
Let's meet! Feb 24, 2021

Hola, Rafael!

When I get asked this question and the context is not appropriate, I always invite the person to meet in private so we can talk about the topic.

I also teach and translate, and my approach is exactly the same in both cases.

I am known in my neighbourhood and many mums tend to ask me "Can you teach my son?" when I'm doing the shopping.

My answer is always the same: "Let's meet and we'll see what can be done."

Hope this
... See more
Hola, Rafael!

When I get asked this question and the context is not appropriate, I always invite the person to meet in private so we can talk about the topic.

I also teach and translate, and my approach is exactly the same in both cases.

I am known in my neighbourhood and many mums tend to ask me "Can you teach my son?" when I'm doing the shopping.

My answer is always the same: "Let's meet and we'll see what can be done."

Hope this helps!

Francisco J. Vare
Collapse

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 09:24
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
@Rafael Feb 24, 2021

In order to help you and answer your questions could you please elaborate a bit more on this? Why asking for your rates is at times out of context? Why saying what your rates are reduces the value of your service?

Morano El-Kholy
Esther Dodo
Emanuele Vacca