Thread poster: Anna Aresi
Anna Aresi
Anna Aresi
United States
Local time: 23:40
English to Italian
+ ...
Dec 2, 2020

Hi, I need to translate a document that is originally written in two languages, Italian and French, but was issued by Italy and I am a translator from Italian. Both the Italian and the French text say the same things, the French being a translation of the Italian. Should I leave it in French in the translation or just translate the Italian into English leaving out the repetition in French? Thanks!

MollyRose
MollyRose  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 22:40
English to Spanish
+ ...
language list Dec 2, 2020

Without knowing the situation, I think they want it in all three languages on the same document, so that the readers may read the text in their language. So just put your translation at the end (or between Italian and French). To be sure, I suggest that you ask the client how they want it done, exactly.

Josephine Cassar

Sadek_A
Sadek_A  Identity Verified
Local time: 07:40
English to Arabic
+ ...
..... Dec 2, 2020

Write between say, square brackets, in the middle of the page that the respective source text paragraph's content is the exact same as the previous (or, next) target text paragraph's content, but in French.
[Paragraph -- : same content as the immediate paragraph above (or, below), only delivered in French within the source document]

Anna Aresi

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 04:40
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
@Anna Dec 2, 2020

In order to try to help you, could you please answer the following questions: Why was the document originally written in two languages? Was it really issued by Italy? As far as I know the only country in Europe that has French and Italian as official languages is Switzerland…

Anna Aresi
Anna Aresi
United States
English to Italian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Document issued by Italy Dec 2, 2020