Thread poster: Tom in London
Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Local time: 17:27
Member (2008)
Italian to English
Dec 17, 2020

I was chatting to someone today (not a translator) who works with videos and video editing. He told me he needs a very fast internet connection: 200mbps or more. I was shocked; as a translator, I get away with much less than that. I've installed a SpeedTest application https://www.speedtest.net/apps/mac and here's my current readout:

Screen Shot 1

This is as much as I could possibly need, doing translation work + listening to Spotify + emailing, googling, downloading, watching TV etc etc. Never had a problem with these speeds.

But if you have a large family with 3 teenage children playing videogames etc. I imagine you would need a lot more.

What is YOUR internet speed? Is it enough for what you do?

Christopher Schröder
Christopher Schröder
United Kingdom
Member (2011)
Swedish to English
+ ...
Everything is relative Dec 17, 2020

As someone who still has nightmares about uploading basic WordPerfect files overnight on a 2400 modem, our current download speed of 8MB in the office is a dream.

The 35MB at home seems a bit OTT to be honest. But then we don’t have the fridge and the lightbulbs on the network yet, old farts that we are.

Zibow Retailleau

Andriy Yasharov
Andriy Yasharov  Identity Verified
Ukraine
Local time: 19:27
Member (2008)
English to Russian
+ ...
Mine is faster Dec 17, 2020

I enjoy a faster Internet connection.

It's

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Member (2008)
Italian to English
TOPIC STARTER
To quote the Italian fish and chip man Dec 17, 2020

You gedda whadda you pay for.

I could increase my speed up to 150 if I paid £5 extra per month, or up to 300 if I pay twice what I currently pay - but I really don't need that speed and I'd rather spend that money on something else.

[Edited at 2020-12-17 15:49 GMT]

Kay-Viktor Stegemann
Kay-Viktor Stegemann
Germany
Local time: 18:27
English to German