Virginia1986
Virginia1986
Uruguay
Local time: 22:47
Spanish to English
+ ...
Oct 16, 2017

Hi everyone,
This is going to be a long and personal post, please bear with me.
I've been translating for over 11 years, also teaching both languages (Spanish and English) as a certified teacher. In the past 2-3 years I've been working a lot more in translation, particularly for subtitle and localization companies, but I find that they do not send regular work, especially lately, and when they do it's on a "first come, first serve" basis and due to my time zone I'm usually always lat
... See more
Hi everyone,
This is going to be a long and personal post, please bear with me.
I've been translating for over 11 years, also teaching both languages (Spanish and English) as a certified teacher. In the past 2-3 years I've been working a lot more in translation, particularly for subtitle and localization companies, but I find that they do not send regular work, especially lately, and when they do it's on a "first come, first serve" basis and due to my time zone I'm usually always late. I'm very experienced and get really high marks on my work (which is evaluated regularly), and I have also translated websites, articles and even novels with great praise and success. But even though I've worked really hard to establish myself, I still find myself without work most of the time.
I would like to quit my teaching job (I'm a private tutor) because of the culture in my country regarding private teachers, it feels like the clients do not value my work and are constantly complaining about fees and if I take sick days and so on, so I would like to work with a more normal crowd. This doesn't happen with my Spanish students who aren't from my country, since they are usually extremely grateful and kind and I'd like to continue to work only with them, but they're only a handful and it doesn't pay the bills.