MA Translation (Distance) - University of Birmingham or University of Bristol?
Thread poster: JoshuaV-M
JoshuaV-M
JoshuaV-M
Mexico
Local time: 23:35
Spanish to English
Jul 25, 2015

Hello to you all. I am Josh. I am a 27-year-old American freelance Spanish-to-English translator who has lived in Mexico for the past few years. I majored in history as an undergrad, but my love of languages has led me into this field.

Anyway, I've decided that it is time for me to pursue a master's program. I've also decided that I will limit myself to distance learning programs owing to the apparent lack of Spanish-to-English translation programs here in Mexico (it seems that,
... See more
Hello to you all. I am Josh. I am a 27-year-old American freelance Spanish-to-English translator who has lived in Mexico for the past few years. I majored in history as an undergrad, but my love of languages has led me into this field.

Anyway, I've decided that it is time for me to pursue a master's program. I've also decided that I will limit myself to distance learning programs owing to the apparent lack of Spanish-to-English translation programs here in Mexico (it seems that, for obvious reasons, there are only English-to-Spanish programs). Taking those factors into account, I've applied for the distance learning master's programs of two UK schools, the University of Birmingham and the University of Bristol. The first has already accepted me, and I feel good about my prospects with the other. I want to know if anyone has any experience with the translation programs of either of these schools, be it first hand or second hand.