Your thoughts about a freelancing relationship with a client - are they trying to get rid of me?
Thread poster: Nina Khmielnitzky
Nina Khmielnitzky
Nina Khmielnitzky  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 05:07
Member (2004)
English to French
May 12, 2020

My current professional situation is that I am a freelancer (not by choice initially - having worked in-house most of my professional life -, but I got used to it and I like it now) and have been so since June 2016.

In August 2018, I got hired for a 12-month contract (all done remotely), at which term, they asked me to stay as a freelancer (I was hoping of getting a permanent job, which has not happened). They are my main client and source of revenue. I have other clients, but they
... See more
My current professional situation is that I am a freelancer (not by choice initially - having worked in-house most of my professional life -, but I got used to it and I like it now) and have been so since June 2016.

In August 2018, I got hired for a 12-month contract (all done remotely), at which term, they asked me to stay as a freelancer (I was hoping of getting a permanent job, which has not happened). They are my main client and source of revenue. I have other clients, but they contact me once in a blue moon.

I was allowed to keep the company computer, access to their systems and intranet and email account, as it was deemed more practical.

A yearly budget has been set. I can't invoice more than 35 h/week and I decide how many hours I want to work. I am paid by the hour and submit my invoice twice a month. I remain online and available for them 8am-4pm (sometimes having not invoiced anything for a few days), and I am free to do what I please if there is no work.